Épimède, what about us ?

Épimède capital is a private fund (PRICAF under Belgian law). It aims to invest in private capital, non-listed, of high-growth technological SMEs. Our strategy focuses on promising companies in early stage phase whose growth potential is demonstrated or in effective growth. Funds raised have to be invested in priority in the financing of growth accelaration.

We give priority to partners we can bring a real added-value in terms of growth support. As such, Épimède will play an active role within the Board of Directors of the target company and will take part in the control of key, strategic decisions.

The amounts raised from Épimède have to be mainly attributed to the subscribtion of new equity.

We are supporting the best and most ambitious entrepreneurs. The Épimède team has a strong experience in terms of strategy and business development of a technological nature. His passion is to work with entrepreneurs Épimède is partnering with in order to build a coherent business vision with an ambitious growth strategy, realistic and in line with means.

Our support is based on solid expert and experience but also on a well-developed network of contacts. This support will potentially be useful to help our entrepreneurs to refine their strategy related to key activities, product positioning, services, production, financing, marketing, recruitment, intellectual property management and internationalization.

Our approach is based on a constructive dialogue and positive challenge.

Participations

 

Working

Investment criteria

Amounts

The amount per investment is:

  • Minimum 1.000.000 € (One million euros);
  • Maximum 7.000.000 € (7 million euros).

Global amount invested in each project will not exceed 33 % (thirty three percent) of the subscribed capital amount increased by amounts given by shareholders, that is to say all means that are made available by Épimède.

Participations profile

Company localization

We give priority to companies which have their head office or main operational office in Wallonia.

Company size

Companies, at the time of initial investment, must (a) have less than 500 (five hundred) employees, (b) net capital assets in the balance sheet which are not exceeding 75.000.000 € (seventy-five million euros) and (c) be self-employed, that is to say not being hold up to a limit of more than 33 % (thirty three percent) by a non-SME.

Company sector

Privileged sectors concern life sciences (Biology, Biotechnology, MedTech, etc), engineering sciences (NTIC and Cleantech) and corporate services. The company has to, in all circumstances, present a competitive advantage in terms of technology or industry.

Financial situation of the company

The company has to:

  • Present a recurrent turnover superior to 1.000.000 € (a million euros), excepted for companies active in the sector of life sciences;
  • Have reached the Break-even (ideally demonstrated profitability and positive cash-flows), excepted for companies active in the sector of life sciences.

Company management

The target company must have management tools at its disposal. Management and shareholders of the target company have to be able to demonstrate an opening to a growth strategy, it particularly concerns:

  • Definition of a 3 to 5-year strategic plan (three to five) in cooperation between the company management and Épimède and agreement concerning financing requirement;
  • Opening of the existing shareholders to dilution.

Agreement on the principle of a possible evolution of the managerial team composition.

We have the deep conviction that a successful partnership is based on shared values and common vision. This is essential in any entrepreneurial venture, inherently uncertain, which will experience its bifurcations, falls, opportunities which will necessitate making frequent, fast and serene decisions.

That is why all our investment decisions are made on a basis of dialogue and exchange. Our decision process is organized as follow:

  1. At first, we invite entrepreneurs to check that their company and project correspond to our investment criteria. We will not take into account any solicitation that would not respect these criteria;
  2. Then, we invite entrepreneurs to communicate a short document (type executive summary), which brings parts of the answer to the following questions:
    • What is your story (Your story and your company’s story)?
    • What specific need of the market are you focusing on?
    • What solution do you propose?
    • Why is this solution unique or differentiated against other existing solutions on the market?
    • How do you estimate your company’s development potential?
    • How much money are you looking for?
    • What for will you use these amounts?
  1. We will then organize a first meeting with our team in order to better know each other;
  2. If this interest is confirmed, a business plan will be validated by common consent to clarify the partnership’s goals and ambition;
  3. A termsheet will be defined in order to clarify the main points of a potential partnership. This termsheet will specify the nature of additional detailed analysis (due diligence) that will be asked;
  1. Once these analyses are complete, if they confirm the fit, an investment proposal will be made at the Board of Director of Épimède;
  2. We invest in your project.

Our team is really flexible and reactive. That means we can make decisions really quickly. Therefore, the decision-making process duration will mainly depend on the following points:

  • A clear (and shared) vision of ambition and growth-strategy since the start of our contacts;
  • A pre-existing business plan, in tune with this vision;
  • A termsheet negotiated in a trustworthy atmosphere;
  • A due diligence made in full collaboration and transparency.

We are supporting the best and most ambitious entrepreneurs. The Épimède team has a strong experience in terms of strategy and business development of a technological nature. His passion is to work with entrepreneurs Épimède is partnering with in order to build a coherent business vision with an ambitious growth strategy, realistic and in line with means.

Our support is based on solid expert and experience but also on a well-developed network of contacts. This support will potentially be useful to help our entrepreneurs to refine their strategy related to key activities, product positioning, services, production, financing, marketing, recruitment, intellectual property management and internationalization.

Our approach is based on a constructive dialogue and positive challenge.

Contact

ÉPIMÈDE

(PRIVATE PRICAF UNDER BELGIAN LAW), limited company.
BCE 634.750.380, RPM Liège

ADDRESS (HEAD OFFICE)

Rue Lambert-Lombard 3 à 4000 Liège

PHONE

+32 (0)4 221 62 21

EMAIL ADDRESS

info@epimede.be

FORMULAIRE DE CONTACT

Épimède, qui sommes-nous ?

Épimède capital est un fonds de type PRICAF privée de droit belge, organisme de placement collectif réglementé depuis 2003. Le fonds a pour vocation d’investir dans le capital privé, non-coté, de PME technologiques à potentiel de croissance. Notre stratégie privilégie la sélection de sociétés prometteuses en stade d’early stage dont le potentiel de croissance est démontré ou en croissance effective. Les fonds doivent prioritairement être destinés à financer des projets permettant des sauts de croissance.

Nous privilégions les partenariats dans lesquels nous sommes susceptibles d’apporter une réelle valeur ajoutée en matière de soutien à la croissance. À ce titre, Épimède jouera un rôle actif au sein du Conseil d’administration de la société cible et participera au contrôle des décisions clés de celle-ci.

Les montants investis par Épimède doivent servir principalement à souscrire à des augmentations de capital. Les rachats de titres existants seront réalisés à titre accessoire.

Nous soutenons les meilleurs et les plus ambitieux entrepreneurs. L’équipe d’Épimède possède une solide expérience en matière de stratégie et de développement d’entreprises à caractère technologique. Sa passion est d’être aux côtés des entrepreneurs avec lesquels Épimède est partenaire pour construire une vision d’entreprise cohérente en ligne avec une stratégie de croissance ambitieuse, réaliste et en phase avec les moyens disponibles.

Notre support repose non seulement sur une expertise et une solide expérience mais aussi sur un réseau de contacts très développé. Ce support sera potentiellement utile pour aider nos entrepreneurs à affiner leur stratégie sur l’ensemble de leurs activités clés, positionnement produits, services, production, financement, marketing, recrutement, gestion de la propriété intellectuelle et internationalisation.

Notre approche est celle du dialogue constructif et du challenge positif.

Participations

 

Fonctionnement

Critères d’investissement

Montants

Le montant par investissement est de :

  • Minimum 1 000 000 € (un million d’euros) ;
  • Maximum 7 000 000 € (sept millions d’euros).

Le montant global engagé par projet ne pourra dépasser 33% (trente-trois pourcents) du montant du capital souscrit augmenté des montants prêtés par les Actionnaires, soit l’ensemble des moyens mis à la disposition de la S.A. Épimède.

Profil des participation

Localisation de l’entreprise

Nous privilégions les entreprises dont le siège social ou le principal siège d’exploitation est établi en Wallonie.

Taille de l’entreprise

Les entreprises, au moment de l’investissement initial doivent (a) avoir moins de 500 (cinq cents) employés (b) des immobilisations nettes au bilan n’excédant pas 75 000 000 € (septante-cinq millions d’euros) et (c) être indépendantes, c’est-à-dire ne pas être détenues à concurrence de plus de 33 % (trente-trois pourcents) par une non-PME.

Secteur de l’entreprise

Les secteurs privilégiés concernent, les sciences de la vie (Biologie, Biotechnologie, MedTech,…) les sciences de l’ingénieur (NTIC et Cleantech) et les services aux entreprises. L’entreprise doit, en toutes hypothèses, présenter un avantage compétitif de nature technologique ou industrielle.

Situation financière de l’entreprise

L’entreprise doit :

  • Avoir un chiffre d’affaires récurrent supérieur à 1 000 000 € (un million d’euros), à l’exception cependant des sociétés actives dans les sciences de la vie ;
  • Avoir atteint le Break-even (idéalement rentabilité démontrée et cash-flows positifs), à l’exception cependant des sociétés actives dans les sciences de la vie.

Management de l’entreprise

La société cible devra disposer d’outils de gestion en place. Le Management et les Actionnaires de la société cible doivent savoir démontrer une ouverture à la mise en place d’une stratégie de croissance, cela concerne notamment :

  • La définition d’un plan stratégique à 3-5 (trois-cinq) ans « à 4 mains » (management + Épimède) et accord sur le besoin de financement ;
  • Absence ou abandon de toute volonté de contrôle actionnarial par les stakeholders présents (ouverture à la dilution).

Accord de principe sur une possible évolution de la composition de l’équipe managériale.

Notre intime conviction est qu’un partenariat réussi repose sur des valeurs partagées et une vision commune. C’est essentiel dans toute aventure entrepreneuriale, incertaine par essence, qui connaîtra ses bifurcations, revers, opportunités qui nécessiteront des prises de décisions fréquentes, rapides et sereines.

C’est la raison pour laquelle toutes nos décisions d’investissement se réalisent sur base du dialogue et de l’échange. Notre processus de décision s’organise comme suit :

  1. Nous vous invitons, dans un premier temps, à vérifier que votre entreprise et votre projet correspondent à nos critères d’investissement. Nous ne prendrons en considération aucune sollicitation qui ne respecterait pas ces critères ;
  2. Nous vous invitons ensuite à nous communiquer un bref document (de type executive summary), qui apporte des éléments de réponse aux questions suivantes :
    • Quelle est votre histoire (la vôtre, celle de votre entreprise) ?
    • Quel est le besoin auquel vous vous adressez sur le marché ?
    • En quoi consiste votre solution ?
    • En quoi cette solution est-elle unique ou différenciée par rapport aux autres solutions présentes sur le marché ?
    • Comment estimez-vous le potentiel de développement de votre entreprise ?
    • Quels montants recherchez-vous ?
    • À quels besoins seront utilisés ces montants ?
  1. En cas d’intérêt, nous organiserons une première réunion avec notre équipe pour mieux faire connaissance ;
  2. Si l’intérêt est confirmé, un plan d’affaires sera validé de commun accord pour préciser les objectifs et l’ambition du partenariat ;
  3. Une termsheet sera définie pour esquisser les principaux éléments d’un éventuel partenariat. Cette termsheet précisera la nature des analyses approfondies complémentaires (due diligence) qui seront demandées ;
  1. Une fois ces analyses réalisées, si elles confortent les éléments de départ, une proposition d’investissement sera faite au conseil d’administration d’Épimède ;
  2. Nous investissons dans votre projet.

Notre équipe est très souple et très réactive. Cela signifie que nous pouvons être très réactifs pour prendre une décision. En conséquence la durée effective du processus de décision sera largement tributaire des éléments suivants :

  • Une vision claire (et partagée) de l’ambition et de la stratégie de croissance dès le début des contacts ;
  • Un plan d’affaires préexistant, en phase avec la vision ;
  • Une termsheet négociée dans la confiance ;
  • Une due diligence réalisée dans la collaboration et la transparence la plus totale.

Nous soutenons les meilleurs et les plus ambitieux entrepreneurs. L’équipe d’Épimède possède une solide expérience en matière de stratégie et de développement d’entreprises à caractère technologique. Sa passion est d’être aux côtés des entrepreneurs avec lesquels Épimède est partenaire pour construire une vision d’entreprise cohérente en ligne avec une stratégie de croissance ambitieuse, réaliste et en phase avec les moyens disponibles.

Notre support repose non seulement sur une expertise et une expérience solide mais aussi sur un réseau de contacts très développé. Ce support sera potentiellement utile pour aider nos entrepreneurs à affiner leur stratégie sur l’ensemble de leurs activités clés, positionnement produits, services, production, financement, marketing, recrutement, gestion de la propriété intellectuelle et internationalisation.

Notre approche est celle du dialogue constructif et du challenge positif.

Contact

ÉPIMÈDE

(PRICAF PRIVÉE DE DROIT BELGE), société anonyme.
BCE 634.750.380, RPM Liège

ADRESSE (SIÈGE SOCIAL)

Rue Lambert-Lombard 3 à 4000 Liège

TÉLÉPHONE

+32 (0)4 221 62 21

ADRESSE MAIL

info@epimede.be

FORMULAIRE DE CONTACT